Scam Attempts

Please also read our ANTI-FRAUD page as this may support your own gut instincts as to whether someone is bogus. Remember, if it doesn't feel right, it probably isn't.

Below are emails received by Registered Users posting on this site (written as they are received). They seem unlikely as genuine responses, and are most likely scam attempts to defraud the recipients of money. We have posted them here, so that you can read through and avoid falling victim to scam.

The rule of thumb is simple: If it doesn't seem right, it probably isn't.

If you receive an email / approach that seems suspicious, please let us know, so that we can include it here. Also, click on the link for further information about Protecting Yourself Against Fraud. 

************************************************************************************************************************** 

08-Aug-11

From: danielmila16@yahoo.com

**************************************************************************************************************************

01-Aug-11

From: macbrianjohnson1959@yahoo.com

Emailing many people using details: macbrianjohnson1959@yahoo.com and 07024045991. 

**************************************************************************************************************************

6-Jul-11

From: nknick9@gmail.com
From: jessb28@live.com
From: Raj122@aol.com

>> More scam attempt email addresses. Press Delete. Do not reply.

**************************************************************************************************************************

26-Apr-2011

 

>> Another scam attempt. Press Delete. Do not reply.

From: jspec@zav.att.ne.jp

Warning Note from a DisabledGear.com User - Just a note to inform you, that this company (below) is another scam. They were asking for copies of registration document and when challenged they ceased their pursuit:

Jspec Works/ KMG,Inc. 
KEI MORIMOTO / Steve Weinberg 
TEL 81-50-3009-8644/FAX 81-3-3708-3600 
CEL 81-90-5216-3872 
http://www.jspecworks.com/ 
jspec@zav.att.ne.jp 

Please make your readers aware 

 

**************************************************************************************************************************

17-Feb-2011

>> Another scam attempt. Press Delete. Do not reply.

From: jame.brown84@yahoo.com

**************************************************************************************************************************

14-Dec-2010

>> Another scam attempt. DHL shippers have their own domain name (e.g. sales@dhl.com)! DO NOT REPLY to these types.

From: john.david68@yahoo.com

Goodday to you, i am Mr David,i saw ur Advert posted for sale.If is still available, kindly reply to this email with the Last offer,the price £2500 is okay by me, i we pay you by cash and i do hope is condition is okay as advertised.Though i am not around now,but i will forward you the payment and my shipper will come over for the pick up. 
Full name, full address and personal contact telephone number in order For 
us to begin shipment of your order. mail my shipping your address to location to your place....my shipping agent contact email: dhlglobal40@yahoo.com 
Full name ...... 
Full address ......... 
City:............ 
State:................ 
Country:.................... 
Zip code:...................... 
Telephone ............... 
We await your quick response. 
Thanks & Best Regards.

**************************************************************************************************************************

3-Dec-2010

>> Another attempt of the same style. Cheque / bankers draft scam. DO NOT REPLY to these types.

From: walker.smith58@yahoo.com

Hello seller, 
I just saw your ad on Tilt And Stand Table for sale which price is £500 and i"m seem to be most interested in buying it. Say,is it possible to have a few pics sent to me via email? Hope payment with Bank draft/cheque is acceptable. 
Await to read from you, 
Regards, 
Walker

**************************************************************************************************************************

24-Nov-2010

>> This is the 2nd email one registered user received. It's not a two way conversation, and a cheque is a very unsafe method of payment from someone you do not know. Mention of a shipping agent to come over and collect the item is introducing a common scam. In this arrangement you would be completely unprotected. I would be suspicious of a foreign transaction:

From: benfrank07@gmail.com

Hello,Thanks for the response,the price£1000 is okay by me  and i do hope is condition is okay as advertised.Though i am not around now,but i will forward you the payment and my shipper will come over for the pick up.Let me know if Cheque is acceptable for payment,and get back to me with the name that will be on the Cheque ,your contact address country zipcode where to forward the Cheque  and your phone contact,so that i could forward you the payment for you as soon as posible.

NAME ON THE Cheque ..............
Address Country Zipcode...............
Phone Contact.........................
I await your urgent response.Best regards,
 
>> I have had reports now from many people. It would seem that this person is emailing everyone on the site.

>> And his 2nd reply to one user. Note he is now wanting to send a cheque for more than the amount so that you give him cash back via a Money Transfer Service (MoneyGram). With this method it is impossible to get your cash back once you realise you have been scammed. They often use an emotional appeal (here: he is in hospital) to make you feel bad. Remember, even after a cheque has cleared, it can be stopped and funds taken back out of your account. This is why a cheque is such an insecure form of payment from a stranger. In this case the original item was only selling for £350 - quite different from the £2,000 he is trying to steal!
 

HELLO
How are you doing today, right now am in the Hospital have make your info send to one of my staff, he have make £2000 cheque send to you. I hope very soon you we get the cheque when you get the cheque just take it to your bank and i we wait for clears befor any pick up, and just deduct your money and send me the rem balance to my shipping company. through MONEY GRAM. he have make the cheque send to you today and i we wait for the Date I await your urgent response. i we wait for the clear befor the pick up,

 

**************************************************************************************************************************

06-May-2010

>> Overpaying is a classic fraud method, and with Western Union, once your money has left your hands, it is not protected. I would be suspicious of a foreign transaction:

Thank you for your message,i am okay with the illustration.I am so much interested and i will be paying for it with a Cheque.I will issue you a cheque for £3,000,I am including the shipment cost.So you will have to pay in the Cheque into into your Bank and we would wait until it clears before we proceed with the sale before we proceed with the sale.As soon as it clears, i want you to get your money sort and send the rest of the money to my Shipping Agent via western union money transfer ,they would arrange for an immediate shipment of the Alber e-motion wheel.

I want you to email back with your details as listed below,so i can make the payment out to you!

Your name how it should be written on cheque?
Address:
City:
State:
Zipcode:
Phone numbers:

I hope to read from you soon..
Mr Philip
07023071***

**************************************************************************************************************************

11-Apr-2010 

>> Consider carefully the Approach and Language used.

From: davidmarc007@yahoo.com

Hi there, i will like to make an offer £1100.00 for this, i will be happy if you accept my offer, payments will be through paypal and i will arrange the pick up well. Cheers,Nicholas

From: davidmarc007@yahoo.com

Hi thanks for mailing back,i am an oceanographer, i am at sea right now,i am buying this for my son as a surprise gift and I am glad you accepted my offer.I can only pay through paypal at the moment as i dont have access to my bank account online(i dont have internet banking with it),but i have it attached to my paypal account, and this is why i insisted on using paypal to pay,all i will need is your paypal email address to make the payments,and if you dont have a paypal account yet,its pretty easy to set one up at www.paypal.com.au,i will be expecting your email.I have a pick up agent that will come for the pick up after payments has been sorted.How much is the total cost?

**************************************************************************************************************************

Your Basket

No items
Accessatlast Travel Accessories